Skip to main

COVID -19 Update

For the latest information about Mercy’s COVID-19 policies click here.  STUDENTS: To upload your vaccination documentation, click here.  

Mercy Community Honors Students, Faculty and Staff at the 10th Annual Mavie Awards

Mavie award winner and President Hall

The 10th annual Mavie Awards, a beloved Mercy College tradition, once again honored students, faculty and staff members for their accomplishments and contributions to the Mercy community. After gathering over 100 nominations, the Office of Campus Life presented Mavie Awards to 25 members of the community across 16 different categories.

David Collins ’03, M.B.A. ’11, received the the Maverick Spirit Award: “I was humbled. I was flattered. I really didn’t think that I was viewed in that manner, but I’m greatly appreciative.” Collins is the director of the TRiO Student Support Services Project (SSSP), a federally funded program that provides support to increase retention and graduation rates within underrepresented student populations in higher education.

Kelsey Winiarski ’24, a sophomore majoring in Design + Animation, received the Outstanding Second-Year student Award. In the fall, she worked in Mercy’s COVID-19 testing center and has supported the Health and Wellness Center in other ways this spring. “The Mavies reinforces the idea that we’re really united as a community here at Mercy,” she said. “Everyone knows their classmates and their neighbors, and we all care about each other.”

“Students, faculty and staff do a lot to make sure that the Mercy community is a happy and inclusive place to be,” said Brittany Mayes, associate director of Campus Life. “It’s really important to recognize those efforts.”

The list of 2022 Mavie Award winners include:

  • Faculty of the Year: Assistant Professor Emily Murphy
  • Staff Member of the Year: Enrollment Services Counselor Liavy De Los Santos, Senior Graphic Designer Nancy DeVico
  • Academic Advisor of the Year: Associate Director, PACT James Gisondi, PACT Counselor Kathyria Feliciano Cosme
  • Club Advisor of the Year: Assistant Professor Nadia Ramjit
  • Maverick Spirit Award: David Collins ’03, M.B.A. ’11, Gianna Mott ’23
  • Community Hero: Basic Needs Manager Julie Cruickshank, Assistant Director of Operations, Manhattan Ebony Tracy
  • Club of the Year: Exercise Science Club
  • Club Event of the Year: December Step Showcase - Prestigious Divas
  • Club President of the Year: Kaz Fukumoto ’22
  • Emerging Leader Award: Duaa Imran '25
  • Student Leader of the Year: Lili Lopez ’22
  • Student-Athlete of the Year: Sydney Johnston ’23 Justin Gerdvil ’23
  • Outstanding First Year: Adriana Flores ’25, Liz Delgado ’25
  • Outstanding Second Year: Kelsey Winiarski ’24, Arleigh Kubel ’24
  • Outstanding Third Year: Mia Benedicte Axelsen ‘23, Brian Jean ’23
  • Outstanding Senior: Kamrin Pressley ’22, Isabella Hanesworth ’22
Mavie Award Winner
Student group