Get More Info

Faculty Areas of Interest

To learn about a faculty’s area of interest you can click on their name or on the specific “active project.” If you want to work with a faculty, click on their email and send them an introductory email telling them about your desire to meet with them.  To see a listing of a faculty members scholarly work, CLICK HERE

Faculty Name

Areas of Interest

Active Projects

Email

Eduardo Albrecht

 

  • International protest movements

  • Forecasting political crises by identifying recurring patterns of positive / negative sentiment in a range of different "online milieus" to create leading indicators for political developments in real time

ealbrecht@mercy.edu

Saliha Bava

 

  • Adult play & improvisation

  • Creativity in teaching/learning & research

  • Relational intelligence in leading, coupling and parenting

  • Masculinity

  • Hyperlinked identity (inclusivity in identity definition)

  • Emerging Meanings of Play

  • Accessing Success in Learning Through Systemic Design

  • Play in Social Processes

sbava@mercy.edu

Carol Bennett-Speight

 

  • Foster Care

  • Aging out of Foster Care and dormitory housing for College students

cbennettspeight@mercy.edu

Mary Cuadrado

 

  • Addictions and deviance, particularly among Hispanics and females

  • Impact of social economic factors on homicide rates among world countries

 

mcuadrado1@mercy.edu

Sarah Hahn

 

  • Gerontology

  • Death and dying

  • Caregiving

  • Home and environment in aging

 

shahn@mercy.edu

Evan Imber-Black

 

  • Family secrets

 

eimberblack@mercy.edu

Jeong Kim

 

  • Policing

  • Police occupational stress

  • Police use of force & corruptions

  • CCTV

 

jkim50@mercy.edu

Alberto Manzi

 

  • Memory

  • Attention

  • Academic skills & creativity

  • Cognitive & clinical psychology

  • Standardized video-based mentalization assessment


 

amanzi@mercy.edu

Sara Martucci

 

  • Urban communities

  • Gentrification

  • Tourism

  • Virtual communities

  • Gentrification in American cities

smartucci@mercy.edu

Kimberly Rapoza

 

  • Family violence

  • Adult physical and psychological health & wellness

 

krapoza@mercy.edu

Jack Simons

 

  • Advocacy competence and educational equity

  • Career experiences of intersex people

  • K12 coping strategies of sexual minority youth and emerging adults

  • Career development of sexual minority educators

  • Factors related to school personnel intervention on behalf of sexual and gender minorities in the Czech Republic

  • Bronx LGBT needs assessment

  • LATINX research hub

  • STEM collaborative

jsimons1@mercy.edu

Marina Sorochinski

 

  • Behavioral analysis of violent crime

msorochinski@mercy.edu

Rebecca Trenz

  • Substance use, risk behavior, and access to treatment among vulnerable populations

  • Expressive writing intervention for alcohol use and sexual risk behavior among college women

  • Social media use, identity development, and anxiety among emerging adults

rtrenz@mercy.edu