Skip to main

COVID -19 Update

For the latest information about Mercy’s COVID-19 policies click here.  STUDENTS: To upload your vaccination documentation, click here.  

Kindergarten teacher helping students.

Spanish & Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL), Pre-K - 12 Overview

Communication is an essential skill that students need to succeed throughout their lives. Teachers have the chance to prepare non-native speakers, helping students improve or master their English. 

With the combined Spanish & Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL), Pre-K - 12 students will be able to complete a bachelor's degree in Spanish and their education courses quickly. Students are able to start their graduate coursework while still completing their B.S. degree. Each education course includes 10-15 hours of fieldwork, culminating in student teaching. 

teacher engaged with students

Career Opportunities

TESOL graduates typically teach in K-12 grade public schools, in English language institutes, in private schools or for corporations around the world.

What You'll Get
The Mercy Advantage

  • Our programs are NCATE/CAEP accredited
  • TESOL portion of the program is available 100% online
  • Get a jump start on your graduate degree and start earning credits while still an undergrad

Full-Time Faculty

Mi-Hyun Chung
Mi-Hyun Chung Professor, Literacy and Multilingual Studies
mchung@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Barbara Keckler Associate Professor, Literacy and Multilingual Studies
BKeckler@mercy.edu
Professor McCabe
Patrick McCabe Associate Professor, Literacy and Multilingual Studies
pmccabe1@mercy.edu
JK Miller headshot
JungKang Miller Associate Professor

ChaIr, Literacy and Multilingual Studies
jkmiller@mercy.edu
Victoria Nunez headshot
Victoria Nunez Assistant Professor, Literacy and Multilingual Studies
vnunez6@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Gulizar Otcu-Grillman Associate Professor, Literacy and Multilingual Studies
botcu@mercy.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Kathryn Accurso Adjunct Professor, Literacy and Multilingual Studies
kaccurso@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Christine Baez Adjunct Instructor, Literacy and Multilingual Studies
cbaez12@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Maria Barreto Adjunct Instructor, Literacy and Multilingual Studies
mbarreto5@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Lucy Giordano Adjunct Instructor, Literacy and Multilingual Studies
lgiordano5@mercy.edu

Program Details & Curriculum

Curriculum Overview

Bachelor of Arts in Spanish

General Liberal Arts and Science
General Liberal Arts and Science: 60 credits 

Spanish and TESOL
Undergraduate Courses: 30 credits
Open Electives: 15 credits
TESOL Graduate Courses: 15 credits

Total completed for B.A. Degree: 120 Credits 

Master of Science in TESOL, PreK-12

Coursework completed during B.A. degree: 15 credits
Course work completed during M.S. degree: 21 credits
Total: 36 credits

Total combined program: 141 credits 

For a full curriculum listing visit our catalog. 

Effective Educator Statement

Students must submit an Effective Educator Statement to complete their application. You can download requirements here. 

Please submit the completed statement to your application portal