Skip to main

COVID -19 Update

For the latest information about Mercy’s COVID-19 policies click here.  STUDENTS: To upload your vaccination documentation, click here.  

Earn your B.S. in Sport Management in perso or online.

B.S. in Business Administration: Sport Management Overview

Gain real-world experience and prepare for a successful career in an exciting, growing industry that grosses $220 million per year.

The sports industry has experienced dynamic growth and is currently recognized as a business enterprise in magnitude of 220 billion dollars. According to Sports Business Journal, sports enterprise revenue is larger than the combined revenues of the country's auto and movie industries. The goal of the Mercy College Sport Management Specialization is to use the vast and popular business of sport as a tool to inspire academic excellence and career development.

Learn the art of Sport Management at Mercy College.

Career Opportunities

Sport Management graduates will be prepared to succeed in a variety of areas, including: sport facility management, sport event management, high school and college athletics, as well as professional and amateur sports leagues and organizations.

What You'll Get
The Mercy Advantage

Hands-on sports management, marketing and operations experience

  • Real-live sports management projects
    • Campus Sports Operations
    • Local Sports Broadcasting
  • Guest speakers from Major Leagues
  • Opportunity to join Mercy's "Team Blue" sports management organization

Full-Time Faculty

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Steven Apostolov Adjunct Assistant Professor, Sports Management
Dr. Orlando M. Barreiro
Orlando Barreiro Assistant Professor, Business
obarreiro@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Abdel-Kader Ben-Mohamed Assistant Professor, Business

Chair, Undergraduate Business
abenmohamed@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Robert Bohn Visiting Instructor, Business

Director, Entrepreneurship Program
Mark Chmiel headshot
Mark Chmiel Instructor, Business
mchmiel@mercy.edu
Susan Cooper
Susan Cooper Instructor, Business
scooper13@mercy.edu
Dr. Tom Coughlan
Thomas Coughlan Associate Professor, Business
tcoughlan@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
John Cullen Associate Professor, Business
JCullen@mercy.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Joan Adams Adjunct Instructor, Business
jadams3@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Olumide Adebayo Adjunct Instructor, Business
oadebayo1@mercy.edu
Olga Bristol
Olga Bristol Online Instructional Designe

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Organizational Leadership
obristol@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Braynard Brown Adjunct Instructor, Sports Management
bbrown35@mercy.edu

Faculty Emeritae/i

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Gilda Carle Associate Professor Emerita, Business
gcarle@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Michael Cavanaugh Professor Emeritus, Business
MCavanaugh@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Wayne Cioffari Associate Professor Emeritus, Business
wcioffari@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Norman Foy Professor Emeritus, Business
nfoy@mercy.edu

Program Details & Curriculum

Overview

Bachelor of Science
General Liberal Arts and Sciences
General Education Requirements: 60 Credits
ECON 125, 220, 221, and 230, MATH 116 and MATH/CISC 120 or MATH/CISC 131 are prerequisites for the major and must be used to fulfill general education requirements. 

Core and Specialization
Business Administration Core: 30 Credits
Specialization: 18 Credits
Open Electives: 12 Credits

Total: 120 Credits

For a full curriculum listing visit our catalog.