Skip to main

Update: Mercy's COVID-19 Policies

For the latest information about Mercy’s COVID-19 policies click here.  STUDENTS: To upload your vaccination documentation, click here.  

Kindergarten teacher watching her class at work.

Overview of Special Education

Our programs are designed for those who have a passion for teaching young children with special needs and want to focus on the subject in a specialized way.   

We offer a Student with Disabilities degree program that prepares highly qualified early childhood and childhood education educators of children with special needs. Students also have the option of adding coursework for general classroom certification in Early Childhood Education. 

Once graduating students are qualified to become special education teachers at the elementary or preschool levels.  

Educational Leadership

Overview of Educational Leadership

Our educational leadership programs prepare students with the knowledge, skills and professional dispositions needed to lead successful schools, and provide effective support to teachers and students.  

You will work with faculty and practicing school leaders in a partnership that includes a rich variety of coursework in educational policy, leadership and administration as well as a clinical practice component that prepares you to meet current school challenges as an educational leader.  

Full-Time Faculty

Dr. Kathy-Anne Jordan
Kathy-Anne Jordan Associate Professor
Special Education
kjordan3@mercy.edu
Picture MK
Matthijs Koopmans Professor
Educational Leadership

Director of Assessment
mkoopmans@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Christine Lang Associate Professor
Special Education
CLang@mercy.edu
Dr. Susan Mariano Lapidus
Susan Lapidus Associate Professor
Special Education
slapidus@mercy.edu
Dr. Sudha Ramaswamy
Sudha Ramaswamy Associate Professor
Special Education

Chair, Department of Special Education and Educational Leadership
SRamaswamy@mercy.edu
Dr. Ilene Rothschild
Ilene Rothschild Associate Professor
Special Education
IRothschild@mercy.edu
Head shot of Dr. Rose
Rose Rudnitski Professor
Educational Leadership

Program Director, Department of Special Education and Educational Leadership
rrudnitski@mercy.edu
Picture
Roseanne Vallice Levy Assistant Professor
Special Education

Interim Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, School of Education
rlevy6@mercy.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Gerard Beirne Adjunct Instructor
Educational Leadership
gbeirne@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Andrea Coddett Adjunct Instructor
Educational Leadership
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Mauriciere DeGovia Adjunct Instructor
Educational Leadership
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Petronella Feaster Adjunct Professor
Educational Leadership

Special Ed Accolade
Mercy College was ranked #3 on the Guide to Online Schools’ list of the Best Master's in Special Education Online Programs in 2020 
Educational Leadership Accolade
Mercy College was ranked #3 on GradReports.com’s list of the Top 25 Best Master's in Educational Leadership Programs in 2020.