Skip to main

Update: Mercy's COVID-19 Policies

For the latest information about Mercy’s COVID-19 policies click here.  STUDENTS: To upload your vaccination documentation, click here.  

Health Services Management student working on her time.

Literature and Language at Mercy College

The Department of Literature and Language helps students develop the ability to think creatively and critically, communicate clearly and persuasively and recognize patterns in human behavior and history. Students are able to strengthen their voices with programs in English, Spanish and a master’s degree in English Literature.  

Student are prepared to succeed in an economy exploding with writing and communications opportunities, as well as prepare students for further in education in graduate school or doctoral programs. 

Full-Time Faculty

Elise Arnold-Levene
Elise Arnold-Levene Assistant Professor
Modern Foreign Languages
earnoldlevene@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Sean Dugan Professor
English
SDugan@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Isabel Grayson Assistant Professor
English
igrayson@mercy.edu
Dr. Alan G. Hartman
Alan Hartman Assistant Professor
Modern Foreign Languages

Program Director, Modern Foreign Languages
ahartman@mercy.edu
Dr. Horton
Dana Horton Assistant Professor
English
dhorton1@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Kristen Keckler Associate Professor
English

Chair, Literature and Language
kkeckler1@mercy.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Anne Gilligan-Evans
Anne Gilligan AVP, Admissions

Adjunct Instructor
English
agilligan1@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Martha Aguilar Adjunct Instructor
Spanish
maguilar3@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Christopher Antzoulis Adjunct Assistant Professor
English
cantzoulis@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Luz Arias Assistant Payroll Superviso

Adjunct Instructor
Spanish
LArias@mercy.edu

Faculty Emeritae/i

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Joel Feimer Professor Emeritus
English
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Betty Krasne Professor Emerita
English
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Karen Leroy Assistant Professor Emerita
English
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Eileen McMahon Associate Professor Emerita
English

Red Hyacinth

In May, Mercy celebrated the first issue of its newest literary and arts journal, Red Hyacinth. The journal is driven by students from start to finish — from submitting original writing and art, to selecting and editing pieces, to laying out the pages and communicating with the printer. “I’m so proud of Red Hyacinth,” says Editor Hope Androsko ’19. “It’s kind of like watching my baby … It was such a rewarding experience to see submissions turn into this beautiful journal. It’s so rewarding to be able to say, ‘I made this!’”

Programs Offered

Undergraduate Programs 

  • English, Bachelor of Arts  (Major or Minor) 

  • Spanish, Bachelor of Arts  (Major or Minor) 

Graduate Programs