Skip to main

COVID -19 Update

For the latest information about Mercy’s COVID-19 policies click here.  STUDENTS: To upload your vaccination documentation, click here.  

A mental Health Counselor working with her patient.

Overview

Serving the greater good. Mercy College offers degrees leading to service-oriented positions including those in counseling. Counselors are a vital resource for student and families, and help communities thrive.  

The master’s in school counseling prepares students to become certified counselors in public or private school settings in New York State.  

The master’s program in mental health counseling prepares students to begin working in a clinical setting, including: family services, outpatient center, hospitals, government and private practice.  

Full-Time Faculty

Carolyn Cullen
Carolyn Cullen Assistant Professor

Program Director, Mental Health Counseling
ccullen@mercy.edu
woman smiling with blue jacket and pink top.
Minerva Guerrero Assistant Professor, Mental Health Counseling, SSBS
mguerrero16@mercy.edu
Lisa McHale headshot
Lisa McHale Clinical Assistant Professor, Mental Health Counseling
lmchale@mercy.edu
Shakuntala Ramdas headshot
Shakuntala Ramdas Assistant Professor, Mental Health Counseling
sramdas@mercy.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
William Acosta Adjunct Instructor, Mental Health Counseling
wacosta@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Dennis Andrews Lecturer, Mental Health Counseling
dandrews1@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Danette Brown Adjunct Instructor, Mental Health Counseling
dbrown85@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Kathleen Carney Adjunct Instructor, Mental Health Counseling
kcarney1@mercy.edu

CASAC 350 Hour Certificate

An alcohol and substance abuse certification can both help your career and help your patients in need of this special service. Mercy College can help you get that certification.

Programs Offered

Graduate Programs

Certificates