Skip to main

COVID -19 Update

For the latest information about Mercy’s COVID-19 policies click here.  STUDENTS: To upload your vaccination documentation, click here.  

Group of smiling Mercy students

Humanities at Mercy College

The Department of Humanities teaches students to deal critically and creatively with complex, imperfect information. Students work to understand others through the similarities and differences in languages, histories and cultures.  

Most importantly the department prepares you to ask and attempt to answer thorny questions and to form new insights about humanity as a whole.  

 

  

Diverse group of students in class.

The department offers courses in Philosophy, Religion, History, American Government, and Seminar courses (Critical Inquiry and Junior Seminar) with the goal of supporting students on their journey towards becoming responsible citizens in an increasingly complex world.  

Students will have opportunities to pursue careers in history, education, business, law, paralegal work as well as be prepared for further education in graduate school or doctoral programs.

Full-Time Faculty

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Benjamin Abelson Assistant Professor, Philosophy
babelson@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Jude Aguwa Professor, Religion
JAguwa@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
William Evertsen Adjunct Instructor, Seminars
Headshot
K. Patrick Fazioli Associate Professor, Seminars

Co-Director, Honors Program
kfazioli@mercy.edu
Saul Fisher
Saul Fisher Associate Provost, Research, Grants, and Academic Initiatives

Visiting Associate Professor, Philosophy
sfisher@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Soonyi Lee Assistant Professor, History
slee42@mercy.edu
Dr. Maureen MacLeod
Maureen MacLeod Assistant Professor

Program Director, History
mmacleod@mercy.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Carlo Alvaro Adjunct Instructor, History
calvaro@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Brenna Barlow Adjunct Instructor, Seminars
bbarlow1@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Michael Begun Adjunct Instructor, Philosophy
mbegun@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Sam Ben-Meir Adjunct Assistant Professor, Philosophy
sbenmeir@mercy.edu

Faculty Emeritae/i

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Roger Gocking Professor Emeritus, History
RGocking@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Theodore Rosenof Professor Emeritus, History
TRosenof@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Frederick Shiels Professor Emeritus, History
FShiels@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Peter Slater Professor Emeritus, History
pslater@mercy.edu

Programs Offered

Undergraduate Programs