Skip to main

Update: Mercy's COVID-19 Policies

For the latest information about Mercy’s COVID-19 policies click here.  STUDENTS: To upload your vaccination documentation, click here.  

Animation student working on a project.

Communication and the Arts at Mercy College

The Department of Communication and the Arts offers students the ability to explore communications in all its forms – video and television production; public relations; graphic design and animation; music production; and journalism. Students are given hands-on opportunities to create and gives student the skills relevant for today’s media professions.  

State-of-the-Art On-Campus Facilities

Student & professor in a teaching moment.

A teaching moment in our TV production studio

State-of-the-art music production studio on Dobbs Ferry campus.

Mercy's state-of-the-art music production studio

Student working in animation studio.

A student at work in our design and animation studio

Full-Time Faculty

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Josh Gaetjen Associate Professor
Design and Animation

Program Director, Design and Animation
JGaetjen@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Louis Grasso Assistant Professor
Media Studies

Program Director, Media Studies
LGrasso@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Justin Kessler Assistant Professor
Music Production and Recording Arts
jkessler1@mercy.edu
Marc Palmieri
Marc Palmieri Assistant Professor, Communication Studies
mpalmieri2@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Michael Perrota Associate Professor
Media Studies

Chair, Communication and the Arts, and Program Director, Journalism
MPerrota@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Jen Roos Associate Professor
Design and Animation
Jroos@mercy.edu
Jade Snyder
Jade Snyder Assistant Professor
Communication Studies
jsnyder7@mercy.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Anthony Aggimenti Adjunct Instructor
Media Studies
aaggimenti@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Louis Aronowitz Adjunct Instructor
Music Production and Recording Arts
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Duval Bodden Adjunct Instructor
Communication Studies
dbodden1@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Simone Boyer Adjunct Assistant Professor
Media Studies
sboyer1@mercy.edu

Faculty Emeritae/i

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Paul Steinman Associate Professor Emeritus
Music Production and Recording Arts
PSteinman@mercy.edu

International Film Festival

With exclusive viewings and esteemed guest speakers, Mercy College’s International Film Festival is a hub for cutting edge cinema. The festival typically spans four days and brings talent from across the globe. Some of this year's features include:

The Impact

Our award winning student newspaper, The Impact, enables its student writers to build a portfolio, an important tool for interviewing for a job as a writer.