Skip to main

COVID -19 Update

For the latest information about Mercy’s COVID-19 policies click here.  STUDENTS: To upload your vaccination documentation, click here.  

Social Sciences

Overview

To protect and learn. The department of Social Sciences offers undergraduate programs in behavioral science, sociology, legal studies and criminal justice, which provide skills and education in a broad array of applied and professional fields. In addition, Mercy offers graduate programs in health services management.  

Students are part of an academic environment where they have the opportunity to learn from distinguished full-time faculty and professionals in their fields with years of practical knowledge. 

Our programs offer internship and learning on location experiences within diverse professional settings. Students are prepared to excel at careers in a variety of settings including: human services, business, government, the legal and criminal justice fields, education and health care. 

Full-Time Faculty

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Rudolph Aikens Adjunct Instructor, Behavioral Science
pic
Eduardo Albrecht Associate Professor, International Relations and Diplomacy

Associate Dean, School of Social and Behavioral Sciences
ealbrecht@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Dorothy Cali Balancio Professor

Program Director, Sociology
DBalancio@mercy.edu
M. Cuadrado
Mary Cuadrado Associate Professor

Program Director, Criminal Justice
mcuadrado1@mercy.edu
Carmela Dormani
Carmela Dormani Assistant Professor, Behavioral Science
cdormani@mercy.edu
Donna Drumm
Donna Drumm Assistant Professor

Program Director, Legal Studies
ddrumm@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Tanya Grant Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice
tgrant14@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Sarah Hahn Assistant Professor, Behavioral Science
shahn@mercy.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Robert Adamo Adjunct Instructor, Criminal Justice
radamo@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Rudolph Aikens Adjunct Instructor, Behavioral Science
RAikens@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Beverly Alford Adjunct Instructor, Sociology
balford@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Larry Arias Adjunct Professor, Legal Studies
larias2@mercy.edu

Faculty Emeritae/i

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Deborah Aikens Assistant Professor Emerita, Behavioral Science
daikens@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Hind Rassam Culhane Associate Professor Emerita, Behavioral Science
HCulhane@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Richard L. Hudson Associate Professor Emeritus, Sociology and Behavioral Science
rhudson1@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Mary Kraetzer Professor Emerita, Behavioral Science
MKraetzer@mercy.edu

B.S. in Criminal Justice Now Available in Manhattan

We've expanded our groundbreaking criminal justice program to our newly remodeled Manhattan campus. Learn about the ins and outs of the legal system in the heart of the greatest city in the world.

Department of Homeland Security logo

Program Spotlight: Homeland Security

Add a specialization to your Mercy College Criminal Justice degree in the science of Homeland Security. This newly approved program specialization will give you the tools to graduate ready to protect the country from global threats.


Important Information

Undergraduate Programs

Graduate Programs