Skip to main

COVID -19 Update

For the latest information about Mercy’s COVID-19 policies click here.  STUDENTS: To upload your vaccination documentation, click here.  

Student in computer class

Mathematics and Computer Sciences at Mercy College

The Department of Mathematics and Computer Science provides the theoretical foundation and practical skills needed for careers in the sciences, business or technological world. Our programs teach students to apply mathematics to solve problems, to manage and protect computer systems. 

Graduates are prepared to begin their careers or pursue advanced degrees in mathematics, computer science or cybersecurity.  

  


Full-Time Faculty

Narasim Banavara headshot
Narasimhaswamy Banavara Associate Dean, School of Liberal Arts

Associate Professor, Computer Science
NBanavara@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Cheng Chang Assistant Professor, Mathematics
cchang4@mercy.edu
Front photo of Dr. Z Chen
Zhixiong Chen Professor, Computer Science
ZChen@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Charles Li Associate Professor

Program Director, Mathematics
cli2@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Sisi Li Assistant Professor, Computer Science

Program Director, Undergraduate Computer Science
sli8@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Jon-Paul Paolino Associate Professor

Program Director, Mathematics
jpaolino@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Elaine Paris Professor Emerita, Mathematics

Part-Time Faculty

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
George Ackerman Adjunct Instructor, Cybersecurity
gackerman@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Julian Adames-Ng Adjunct Instructor, Mathematics
jadamesng@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Alexander Adesman Adjunct Assistant Professor, Mathematics
aadesman@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Samer Almazahreh Adjunct Instructor, Computer Science
salmazahreh@mercy.edu

Faculty Emeritae/i

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Nancy Harrison Professor Emerita, Mathematics and Computer Information Science
NHarrison@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Delia Marx Professor Emerita, Mathematics
DMarx@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Elaine Paris Professor Emerita, Mathematics
EParis@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Nagaraj Rao Professor Emeritus, Mathematics
NRao@mercy.edu

High Tech Labs in Manhattan and Dobbs Ferry

Students are able to gain hands-on experience in our facilities, equipped up to date technology including: defensive cyber software packages, offensive intelligent cyber skills and cybersecurity defensive/offensive operation.    

Cybersecurity Accolades

Designated as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Education by the National Security Agency and the Department of Homeland Security. 

NSA and DHS Seals

Programs Offered

Undergraduate Programs

 

Graduate Programs