Skip to main

COVID -19 Update

For the latest information about Mercy’s COVID-19 policies click here.  STUDENTS: To upload your vaccination documentation, click here.  

School of Social and Behavioral Science

Overview

Look inside the mind. The Department of Psychology and Social Work at Mercy College sets a pathway for a wide variety of careers from clinical work to human services including: counseling, social work, business, criminal justice, health and education. Gain the skills you need to learn what makes people “tick” and make an impact on the world around you.  

Undergraduate programs prepare students for graduate study and careers in human services, education, industry, government and health care. Graduate programs are offered in psychology, marriage and family therapy and school psychology. Programs are designed to extent student’s knowledge of the subject and meet the educational requirements for certification.  

Our programs offer students opportunities to participate in hands-on training through federally funded research projects, internship and fieldwork placements.  

Important Information

Undergraduate Programs

Graduate Programs

Full-Time Faculty

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Linda Bastone Associate Provost, Faculty Affairs

Associate Professor, Psychology
lbastone@mercy.edu
Dr. Bava
Saliha Bava Associate Professor, Marriage and Family Therapy
sbava@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Vivian Bergamotto Adjunct Instructor, Psychology

STEM Tutor
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Jacqueline Callahan-Stewart Adjunct Instructor, Psychology
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Amanda Cohen Adjunct Instructor, Psychology
Dr. Jeff Cohen
Jeffrey Cohen Associate Professor

Program Director, School Psychology
jcohen@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Michael Grunes Associate Professor, Psychology
MGrunes@mercy.edu

Part-Time Faculty

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Hiram Allen Adjunct Instructor, Psychology
hallen6@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Leigh Arruda Adjunct Instructor, Psychology
larruda@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Francesco Bello Adjunct Instructor, School Psychology
fbello@mercy.edu

Faculty Emeritae/i

Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Stuart Cohen Professor Emeritus, Psychology
SCohen@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Stephen Daniel Professor Emeritus, Psychology
SDaniel@mercy.edu
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
Stephen A. Daniel Professor Emeritus
Psychology
Mercy seal; placeholder for person with no headshot available
William Lindsey Associate Professor Emeritus, Psychology and Sociology
wlindsey@mercy.edu

Why a Degree in Social Work

Mercy College B.S.W. in Social Work students are active in the community and share their learning through volunteering and advocacy. Students interact with the community and apply what they are learning to the real world. Each year Mercy students join other social work students from across the state for the annual Legislative Advocacy Day in Albany. Our students speak with legislators urging them to pass laws that improve social justice. In fact, Mercy students are so well respected that two of our students have recently earned the Student of the Year Award from the Westchester County Division of the National Association of Social Work.