Get More Info

Academic Leadership

The academic leadership of Mercy College includes the School's Deans, Department Chairs, Program Heads, and Program Directors, all of whom provide effective leadership within their areas, and fulfill the College's mission.

Deans, Associate Deans, and Director of Libraries

School of Business
Interim Dean | Victor Petenkemani, MBA
Associate Dean |

School of Education
Dean | Rose Rudnitski, PhD
Associate Dean for Administration |
     Mary Ellen Hoffman, MS
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs |
     Eric Martone, PhD

School of Health and Natural Sciences
Dean | Joan Toglia, PhD, FAOTA
Associate Dean | Kathleen Golisz, OTD

School of Liberal Arts
Dean | Tamara Jhashi, PhD
Associate Dean | Richard Brad Medoff, MFA, PhD

School of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Dean | Karol Dean, PhD
Associate Dean | Mark Sirkin, PhD

Director of Libraries | Mustafa Sakarya, MLS

School of Education

Dr. Christine Lang
Chair, Special Education

Dr. JungKang Miller
Chair, Literacy and Multilingual Studies

Dr. Amanda Gunning
Chair, Secondary Education

Dr. Elena Nitecki
Chair, Childhood Education

Dr. Esther Wermuth
Chair, Educational Leadership

School of Liberal Arts

Dr. Zhixiong Chen
Chair, Mathematics and Computer Science

Dr. Celia Reissig-Vasile
Chair, Literature and Language

Dr. Andrés Matías-Ortiz
Chair, Humanities
Program Head, History

Mr. Michael Perrota
Chair, Communication and the Arts
Program Head, Journalism

Dr. Narasim Banavara
Program Head, Computer Sciences and Computer Information Systems

Dr. Charles Li
Program Head, Mathematics

Mr. Josh Gaetjen
Program Head, Computer Arts and Design

Mr. Louis Grasso
Program Head, Media Studies

Dr. Alan Hartman
Program Head, Modern Foreign Languages

Dr. Kristen Keckler
Program Head, English

Dr. Christopher Loots
Program Head, English Literature, Graduate Program

Mr. Paul Steinman
Program Head, Music Industry and Technology

Dr. Jong Yoon
Program Head, Cybersecurity, Graduate and Undergraduate
Director, Mercy Cybersecurity Education Center


General Education and Honors Program

Dr. Richard Brad Medoff
Director, General Education

Ms. Emily Seibert
Program Head, Critical Inquiry and Junior Seminar

Dr. Irina Ellison and
Dr. K. Patrick Fazioli
Co-Directors, Honors Program

School of Business

Dr. Raymond Manganelli
Chair, Graduate Business
Program Head, Master of Business Administration

Ms. Denise Stefano
Chair, Accounting

Dr. Li Yong
Chair, Undergraduate Business

Dr. Matthew Miraglia
Program Head, Corporate and Homeland Security

Mr. Zachary Williams
Program Head, Organizational Leadership
Program Head, Human Resource Management

School of Health and Natural Sciences

Dr. Deborah Dougherty
Program Director, Occupational Therapy

Dr. Irina Ellison
Program Head, Health Sciences

Dr. Astrid Mel
Program Head, Exercise Science

Ms. Michelle Naylor
Director, Clinical Laboratory Science

Dr. Lisa Schenkel
Program Director, Veterinary Technology

Dr. Helen Buhler
Program Director, Communications Disorders

Ms. Lorraine Cashin
Program Director, Physician Assistant Program

Dr. Mary Hartnett
Program Head, Generic Nursing Program

Dr. Renée Haskew-Layton
Program Head, Biology

Dr. Nannette Hyland
Program Director, Physical Therapy

Dr. Davida Smyth
Chair, Department of Natural Sciences

Ms. Cristina Dumitrescu
Program Director, Occupational Therapy Assistant

Dr. Miriam Ford and
Dr. Susan Moscou
Interim Co-Program Directors (Fall 2017), Nursing

School of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Ms. Diana Juettner
Chair, Social Sciences

Dr. Mary Knopp Kelly
Chair, Psychology and Social Work

Dr. Arthur McCann
Chair, Counseling
Program Director, School Counseling

Dr. Eduardo Albrecht
Program Head, International Relations and Diplomacy

Dr. Dorothy Balancio
Interim Program Head, Behavioral Sciences

Dr. Carol Bennett-Speight
Program Director, Social Work

Ms. Donna Bookin
Program Director, Legal Studies

Dr. Jeffrey Cohen
Program Director, School Psychology

Dr. Evan Imber-Black
Program Director, Marriage and Family Therapy

Dr. Mary Cuadrado
Program Head, Criminal Justice

Ms. Diana Juettner
Interim Program Head, Health Sciences Management

Dr. Chelsea Kuo
Interim Program Head, Sociology

Dr. Mark Sirkin
Program Director, Mental Health Counseling

Dr. Ellen Sperber-Freebern
Program Head, Undergraduate Psychology

Dr. Rebecca Trenz
Program Head, Graduate Psychology